Magic Money Tree Band

Magic Money Tree Band

Magic Money Tree Band are born from the ashes of Shetland outfit Trookers, who called time on their guitar-based melodic pop back in 2018.

Featuring a core cast of Robert Balfour (vocals/guitar), Chris Thomson (vocals/piano) and Chris Cope (bass), the group weave together singer-songwriter sensibility and folk musings - with plenty of melody and harmony too.

As members of Trookers, the core trio honed their songwriting over many years, culminating in the release of their only album "The Temporary" in 2018.

The album received coverage in national newspapers, and airplay on BBC Radio Scotland, with Scottish music man Jim Gellatly writing in the Sun that with “class musicianship and some incredibly catchy songs, they are on to a winner”.

As Magic Money Tree Band the trio have played several local music festivals and recently support BBC Radio 2 Folk Award winner Kris Drever when he played at Mareel with his band. They continue to work on new material and are looking forward to playing live again in 2024.